Leica and the Wedding

July 6, 2009

Leica M4/Leica Summicron 2/35mm ASPH on Fuji Superia Reala 100 (mono conversion)

Leica M4/Leica Summicron 2/35mm ASPH on Fuji Superia Reala 100 (mono conversion)

I love shooting weddings. For many photographers, it is the one thing they will not photograph. It is not easy, but for me, the rewards far out weight the pressures of the big day. I love the reactions I get from my clients the first time they view the images of their wedding day. I realise the responsibility I have, to capture the special day just as it was. All the expressions, the mood, the quirks, and I like to do it all quietly and unobtrusively.

Enter the rangefinder camera. I use Leica cameras; a IIIa, M3, M4, and M6 to be exact. They are small, silent, reliable, light, and discreet. Simply put, they are the best cameras that I can use to make the photographs I love. The lenses are small, and of the highest quality. They are beautiful to hold and the controls are as simple as it gets. I can hand hold a Leica with a 50mm lens attched and get consistantly sharp results, and with fast f1.4 lenses, that affords me great versatility. The viewfinders are bright and clear, and when I press the shutter, the view does not black out. I can use all of my cameras without batteries, even the M6 if I need to.

It is this minimalistic approach that allows me to focus on my photographs and my clients. I am in full control of the camera, rather than fighting with the technology and wondering whether the camera is guessing correctly. This is why I don’t need an LCD on the back of the camera. I know where I focused, I know that the subject is exposed and not the background, and the less time I spend looking at a little screen, the more time I take shooting the events around me. Because at weddings, you just never know what can happen, and that is a big part of the attraction for me.

Leica M3/Leica Elmarit 2.8/90mm on Fuji Superia Reala 100

Leica M3/Leica Elmarit 2.8/90mm on Fuji Superia Reala 100

Leave a Reply

