Fast B&W

August 13, 2009

I love playing around with new film or developers. Last Saturday night I shot an event in some fairly horrid light, and whilst tempted to go to ASA3200, I decided to stick to the box rating on some Fuji Neopan 1600. I used one lens, my superb Leica Summilux 1.4/75mm, and shot mostly at f1.4. It is a tricky lens to focus, especially with my attrocious eyesight, so I have ordered the Leica 1.25x magnifier for future use.

Contestant at the annual Miss Magpie event for the Karoonda Districts Football Club.  Shot with a Leica 1.4/75mm on Fuji Neopan 1600.

Contestant at the annual Miss Magpie event for the Karoonda Districts Football Club. Shot with a Leica 1.4/75mm on Fuji Neopan 1600.

I used a gentle agitation (not my usual technique) and some Microphen developer. I souped it for 3:25 minutes with no pre-soak. The result is that I am pleasantly surprised with the contrast and fine grain.

Leave a Reply

